An important part of managing files on your computer is to
know when to get rid of files that you no longer need. Deleting
unneeded files gets rid of clutter and makes it easier to find
what you want as well as frees up hard-disk space. It’s a good
idea to back up files before deleting (see the preceding task).
However, if you delete a file and then decide you need it back,
you do have a window of time in which you can retrieve it from
the Recycle Bin. (That window is determined by how much
content the Recycle Bin can hold; when it fills up, older files are
deleted.) This section provides the procedures both for deleting
files and for retrieving files.
1 In File Explorer, locate the file or
folder you want to delete.
2 Click the item to select it.
3 On the Home tab, click the Delete
If you click the Cut button instead of the
Delete button, the file is moved to the
Windows Clipboard. You can go to another
folder in File Explorer and use the Paste button
to paste the file into that location. If you
don’t paste the file anywhere, it will eventually
disappear from the Clipboard, and you
can’t get it back.